About American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB)

The American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB), formerly the ACNM Certification Council, Inc. (ACC) is the national certifying body for Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs*) and Certified Midwives (CMs*). The certification function is a critical aspect of professional quality assurance in midwifery. Nurse-midwives have been certified by examination since 1971. At that time, certification rested within the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM), first within the Division of Examiners, and then within the Division of Competency Assessment. In 1991, in keeping with the professional standard that certification should be separated from the professional organization, the ACC was incorporated as a distinct organization charged with functions related to the midwifery certificate. These functions include initial certification, recertification (Certificate Maintenance Program) and discipline. In 1997, in addition to the CNM certificate, the ACC began to offer certification to professionally educated midwives who were not first educated as nurses. The CM certificate is offered to candidates from ACME accredited programs in midwifery. In 2005 the organization's name was changed to American Midwifery Certification Board but the goals of the organization have remained the same.

The AMCB consists of officers (President, Secretary and Treasurer), a Board of Directors, an office of full-time staff members and committees responsible for the creation of the national certification examination, certificate maintenance, and research and credentialing/reporting.

Mission Statement
The mission of AMCB is to protect and serve the public by leading the certification standards in midwifery.

Vision Statement
To advance the health and well-being of women and everyone for whom midwives provide care
by setting the standard for midwifery excellence.

  • To set the national certification standard for the profession of midwifery
  • To develop and administer the certification examination for assessment of entry-level competencies for the practice of midwifery
  • To award national certification as a Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM) or Certified Midwife (CM) to candidates who have met the specified qualifications
  • To provide a mechanism of certification and recertification for all CNMs/CMs
  • To maintain professional discipline of all CNMs/CMs
  • To adhere to national standards for certification bodies
  • To liaison with other organizations to assure quality processes of midwifery certification and professional discipline


The National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) granted accreditation to the Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM) and Certified Midwife (CM) certification programs administered by the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) for demonstrating compliance with the NCCA Standards for the Accreditation of Certification Programs. NCCA is the accrediting body of the Institute of Credentialing Excellence (ICE), formerly National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). The NCCA Standards were created in 1977, revised in 2003, and again in 2015 to ensure certification programs adhere to modern standards of practice in the certification industry. Both the Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM) and Certified Midwife (CM) certification programs are accredited through 12/31/2026. Click here for more information on the NCCA or contact 202-367-1165.

* The titles CNM and CM are registered through the Federal Office of Patents and Trademarks.