History & Philosophy


The American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB), formerly known as ACNM Certification Council (ACC) was incorporated in 1990. The AMCB develops and administers the national certification examination for Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs) and Certified Midwives (CMs). The AMCB issues CNMs and CMs time-limited certificates that are valid for five years. Beginning on January 1, 2011, the Certificate Maintenance Program will be required for all CNMs and CMs regardless of the initial date of certification.


The AMCB believes that it is important to assure the public that an individual certified by the AMCB maintains safe, minimal competencies as described by the ACNM core competencies. It is the professional responsibility of every CNM/CM to maintain competence in accordance with the Standards for the Practice of Nurse-Midwifery as specified by the ACNM.

If you have any questions, please visit our FAQs or contact:

Jackie Hill
Certificate Maintenance Program Coordinator
Phone: 410-694-9424 ext. 7015